ZeTeM > Working Groups > WG Industrial Mathematics

WG Industrial Mathematics

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Peter Maaß

The working group industrial mathematics covers a broad field of research and application from life sciences and engineering sciences. The mathematical research focuses on The most important fields of application are imaging mass spectrometry (MALDI imaging), cutting processes in material developments, and magnetic particle imaging (MPI).

Dünne Darstellung von Oberflächendaten Sparse representaion of surface data
In the area of material development, cutting processes have a specific relevance: Here, the mathematical modelling of the production process of forming tools and the resulting surface quality is essential. A further aspect is visualization and interaction between tool and workpiece and the thereof resulting surface topographies. Our approach takes account of band and deformation of cutting tools due to the upcoming process forces. After focusing on simulation and visualization in cooperation with the Laboratory for Precision Machining (LFM) for the last years (in Collaborative Research Center SFB 747), now there is also an industrial project (with BEGO GmbH) running, dealing with optimized production of dental prostheses.

Already since 2007, analysis of mass spectrometry data belongs to the research areas of the industrial mathematics group. The interdisciplinary bioinformatics group particularly develops applications for MALDI imaging, a mass spectrometry imaging technique for analyzing biological tissue samples.
In addition to microbiology, botany and pharmacology, the bioinformatics group deals with the use of MALDI imaging in pathological diagnostics. The group cooperates closely with partners from clinical pathology and biomedical research, with the Bremen company Bruker Daltonik, the global market leader for MALDI imaging mass spectrometer, as well as the software company SCiLS, founded in 2013 as a ZeTeM spin-off and meanwhile being a branch office of Bruker.

MPI² LogoMPI² Logo
Since 2016, the industrial mathematics group is also engaged in the mathematical challenges in magnetic particle imaging and enlarges hereby the applied interdisciplinary research in the field of medicine. The tomographic technique of magnetic particle imaging enables to locate iron oxide nanoparticles within human bodies without ionizing. By this, the technique allows to make an inference on e.g. cardiovascular diseases.
Within the project MPI², funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), these challenges are to be tackled together with industrial-medical partners by mathematical research to lay the foundations for a clinical application of this technology.

ZeTeM > Arbeitsgruppen > AG Technomathematik

AG Technomathematik

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Peter Maaß

Die AG Technomathematik (2016)Die AG Technomathematik (2016)
Die Arbeitsgruppe Technomathematik deckt ein breites Feld von Forschung und Anwendungen aus den Bereichen der Lebens- und Ingenieurswissenschaften ab. Der Fokus der mathematischen Forschung liegt auf Die wichtigsten Anwendungsfelder sind hierbei die bildgebende Massenspektrometrie (MALDI Imaging), Zerspanprozesse in der Werkstoffentwicklung, sowie die Magnetpartikelbildgebung (Magnetic Particle Imaging MPI).

Dünne Darstellung von Oberflächendaten Dünne Darstellung von Oberflächendaten
Im Bereich der Werkstoffentwicklung kommt den Zerspanprozessen eine besondere Bedeutung zu: Hier ist die mathematische Modellierung des Herstellungsprozesses von Formwerkzeugen und der daraus resultierenden Oberflächenqualität wesentlich. Ein weiterer Aspekt ist die Visualisierung der Interaktion zwischen Werkzeug und Werkstück und der daraus resultierenden Oberflächentopographien. Unser Ansatz berücksichtigt dabei die Abdrängung und Verformung der Zerspanwerkzeuge aufgrund der entstehenden Prozesskräfte. Nachdem in den letzten Jahren in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Labor für Mikrozerspanung LFM Simulation und Visualisierung im Vordergrund standen (im Sonderforschungsbereich 747), läuft inzwischen ein Industrieprojekt mit der BEGO GmbH zur optimierten Herstellung von Zahnersatz.

Die Analyse massenspektrometrischer Daten gehört bereits seit 2007 zu den Forschungsgebieten der AG Technomathematik. In der interdisziplinären Gruppe Bioinformatik werden insbesondere Anwendungen des MALDI Imaging entwickelt, einer räumlich auflösenden massenspektrometrischen Analysemethode zur Untersuchung biologischer Gewebeproben.
Neben Anwendungen in der Mikrobiologie, Pflanzenforschung und Pharmakologie beschäftigt sich die Bioinformatik-Gruppe mit der Nutzung des MALDI Imaging in der pathologischen Diagnostik (MaDiPath Projekt). Die Gruppe arbeitet eng mit Partnern in der klinischen Pathologie und der biomedizinischen Forschung zusammen, mit der Bremer Firma Bruker Daltonik, dem Weltmarktführer für MALDI-Imaging-Massenspektrometer, sowie mit der Softwarefirma SCiLS, die 2013 als Ausgründung des ZeTeM entstanden ist und inzwischen eine Zweigniederlassung von Bruker ist.

MPI² LogoMPI² Logo
Seit 2016 befasst sich die AG Technomathematik außerdem mit den mathematischen Herausforderungen in der Magnetpartikelbildgebung und erweitert somit ihre angewandte, interdisziplinäre Forschung im Bereich der Medizin. Mittels des tomographischen Verfahrens der Magnetpartikelbildgebung ist es möglich, Eisenoxidpartikel strahlungsfrei im menschlichen Körper zu verfolgen und somit Rückschlüsse auf z.B. kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen zu erhalten.
Im Rahmen des BMBF-geförderten Projekts MPI² sollen diese Herausforderungen mittels mathematischer Forschung zusammen mit industriell-medizinischen Kooperationspartnern bewältigt werden und so der Grundstein für einen klinischen Einsatz dieser Technologie gelegt werden.