Logo Uni Bremen

Zentrum für Technomathematik

ZeTeM > Working Groups > WG Discrete Optimization

Contact Sitemap Impressum [ English | Deutsch ]

WG Discrete Optimization

Administration: Prof. Dr. Daniel Schmand

The Discrete Optimization group develops efficient algorithms for application-motivated mathematical optimization problems. A special focus of the group is the computation of solutions with additional properties. In Algorithmic Game Theory, stable equilibrium states of complex systems with strategically acting agents are studied. In robust optimization, solutions are sought whose quality is robust to a changed initial situation. Typical applications are in traffic planning and optimization, logistics, roster optimization, automative systems, and artificial intelligence. We work closely in interdisciplinary collaborations with other scientists and industrial companies.
Research Areas
Algorithmic Game Theory

Many every-day processes can seen as a game between autonomous interacting players, where each player acts stategically in order to pursue her own objectives. Use-cases are distributed systems, auctions, online-markets, resource allocation, traffic routing, and sports. One goal of Algorithmic Game Theory is to analyze the efficiency and existence of equilibria in such games.

Discrete Optimization

In the research area Discrete Optimization, methods, algorithms and software are developed to handle discrete optimization problems. Application areas include the planning of network and transportation systems. Many application examples can be modeled as graphs. An easy application example from this area is the construction of the least cost connected network; i.e., the construction of a minimum spanning tree given a graph. Kruskal's algorithm is an algorithm that generates such a solution:

Online Algorithms

An online algorithm is one that can process its input piece-by-piece in a serial fashion, i.e., in the order that the input is fed to the algorithm, without having the entire input available from the start. In contrast, an offline algorithm is given the whole problem data from the beginning and is required to output an answer which solves the problem at hand.
In particular, our research group studies variants of the secretarial problem, where the task is to select the best candidate from a set of candidates considered individually and sequentially.

Latest news
WelcomeNicole Schröder und Vijayaragunathan Ramamoorthi

Nicole Schröder joined our working group on Dec. 1. Welcome!

Vijayaragunathan Ramamoorthi joined our working group as well as the groups of Nicole Megow and Sebastian Siebertz on Nov. 2. He will advance projects in the context of Minds-Media-Machines and connect the working groups. Welcome!

New preprint @arXiv and new aper @ WINE 2022

Our preprint ''Prophet-Inequalities over Time'' (by Andreas Abels, Elias Pitschmann and Daniel Schmand) is now on arXiv.

Our paper ''Bicriteria Nash Flows over Time'' (by Tim Oosterwijk, Daniel Schmand, and Marc Schröder) is accepted at WINE 2022 (The 18th Conference on Web and Internet Economics).

Activities
Hosting of the Days on Computational Game Theory 2022 in Bremen, Germany.

The working group hosted the Days on Computational Game Theory at the University of Bremen on September 29 and 30, 2022. The workshop brought together researchers from different areas of algorithmic game theory in a friendly atmosphere to promote scientific exchange.

Lecture and exhibit at CAMPUS CITY 2022

From October 10 - 23, 2022, the University of Bremen presented itself in the city. Lectures, guided tours, exhibitions, workshops and much more could be visited. We were also present and brought our research area closer to the general public with the help of exhibits in the Überseemuseum and a lecture in Hall 7.

Memberships
Projects: hyBit, MMM, LogDynamics, π³

hyBit: Hydrogen is seen as the energy carrier of tomorrow. But the path to an efficient hydrogen economy is complex and requires excellent scientific research. The large-scale hydrogen research project hyBit, coordinated by the university, is now receiving nearly 30 million euros in funding for this purpose. Our group is also a member of the project!

MMM: Minds, Media, Machines is an interdisciplinary network of researchers at the University of Bremen and affiliated institutes within and outside the university. They work together to improve our understanding of intelligence and cognition in autonomous agents, agent teams in the context of mediatized worlds. Our research group is also a part of it.

LogDynamics: Since 1995, the Bremen Research Cluster for Dynamics in Logistics (LogDynamics) has stood for interdisciplinary research in logistics topics and for a correspondingly focused structured international doctoral program at the University of Bremen. LogDynamics contributes to the profile of the excellent and modern University of Bremen in research, transfer and doctoral education in an international environment. Through the associated emergences and synergies, LogDynamics provides Bremen with new impulses and driving forces as a business location.

π³: In the graduate program "π³: Parameter Identification - Analysis, Algorithms, Implementations", PhD students concentrate on the interface between applied mathematics and computer science on questions of parameter identification, which are essentially formulated as high-dimensional minimization problems for suitable functionals.

Committee: STACS 2023 PC, WINE 2022 PC

Daniel Schmand was invited to join the program committee of STACS 2023 - Symposium on Theoretical Aspects of Computer Science and has accepted the invitation.

Daniel Schmand was invited to join the program committee of WINE 2022 - The 18th Conference on Web and Internet Economics and has accepted the invitation.

Logo Uni Bremen

Zentrum für Technomathematik

ZeTeM > Arbeitsgruppen > AG Diskrete Optimierung

Kontakt Sitemap Impressum [ English | Deutsch ]

AG Diskrete Optimierung

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Daniel Schmand

Die Arbeitsgruppe Diskrete Optimierung entwickelt effiziente Algorithmen für anwendungsmotivierte mathematische Optimierungsprobleme. Ein besonderer Fokus der Gruppe liegt auf der Berechnung von Lösungen mit zusätzlichen Eigenschaften. In der Algorithmischen Spieltheorie werden stabile Gleichgewichtszustände von komplexen Systemen mit strategisch agierenden Agenten untersucht. In der robusten Optimierung werden Lösungen gesucht, deren Güte robust gegenüber einer veränderten Ausgangslage sind. Typische Anwendungsgebiete liegen in der Verkehrsplanung und Optimierung, in der Logistik, bei der Dienstplanoptimierung, in automomen Systemen und in künstlicher Intelligenz. Wir arbeiten eng in interdisziplinären Kooperationen mit anderen Wissenschaftler:innen und Industrieunternehmen.
Forschungsgebiete
Algorithmische Spieltheorie

Viele alltägliche Prozesse können als Spiel zwischen autonomen, interagierenden Spielern betrachtet werden, wobei jeder Spieler strategisch handelt, um seine eigenen Ziele zu verfolgen. Anwendungsfälle sind verteilte Systeme, Auktionen, Online-Märkte, Ressourcenzuweisung, Verkehrslenkung und Sport. Ein Ziel der Algorithmischen Spieltheorie ist es, die Effizienz und die Existenz von Gleichgewichten in solchen Spielen zu analysieren.

Diskrete Optimierung

Im Forschungsbereich Diskrete Optimierung werden Methoden, Algorithmen und Software entwickelt, um diskrete Optimierungsprobleme zu behandeln. Anwedungsbereiche sind unter anderem die Planung von Netzwerk- und Transportsystemen. Viele Anwendungsbeispiele lassen sich als Graphen modelieren. Ein leichtes Anwendungsbeispiel aus diesem Bereich ist die Konstruktion der kostengünstigsten Vernetzung mehrerer Akteure; also die Konstruktion eines minimal aufspannenden Baumes gegeben einen Graphens. Der Algorithmus von Kruskal ist ein Algorithmus, der eine solche Lösung erzeugt:

Online Algorithmen

Ein Online-Algorithmus ist ein Algorithmus, der seine Eingabe Stück für Stück seriell verarbeiten kann, d. h. in der Reihenfolge, in der die Eingabe dem Algorithmus zugeführt wird, ohne dass die gesamte Eingabe von Anfang an zur Verfügung steht. Im Gegensatz dazu erhält ein Offline-Algorithmus die gesamten Problemdaten von Anfang an und muss eine Antwort ausgeben, die das vorliegende Problem löst.
Unsere Arbeitsgruppe untersucht insbesondere Varianten des Sekretärinnenproblem, bei dem die Aufgabe darin besteht, aus einer Reihe einzeln und nacheinander betrachteter Bewerber den besten auszuwählen.

Aktuelles
Willkommen Nicole Schröder und Vijayaragunathan Ramamoorthi

Nicole Schrö ist seit dem 1.12. Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe und unser Team erweitern. Willkommen!

Vijayaragunathan Ramamoorthi ist seit 2.11. sowohl Mitglied unserer Arbeitsgruppe als auch der Gruppen von Nicole Megow und Sebastian Siebertz. Er wird Projekte im Kontext von Minds-Media-Machines vorantreiben und die Arbeitsgruppen verbinden. Willkommen!

Neues Preprint @arXiv und neues Papier @ WINE 2022

Wir haben ein neues Preprint ''Prophet-Inequalities over Time'' (von Andreas Abels, Elias Pitschmann und Daniel Schmand) auf arXiv veröffentlicht.

Unser Papier ''Bicriteria Nash Flows over Time'' (von Tim Oosterwijk, Daniel Schmand und Marc Schröder) ist bei der WINE 2022 (The 18th Conference on Web and Internet Economics) akzeptiert.

Aktivitäten
Ausrichtung der Days on Computational Game Theory 2022 in Bremen

Die Arbeitsgruppe hat am 29. und 30. September 2022 die Days on Computational Game Theory an der Universität Bremen ausgerichten. Der Workshop hat Wissenschaftler:innen aus verschiedenen Gebieten der Algorithmischen Spieltheorie in freundschaftlicher Atmosphäre zusammengebracht um den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zu fördern.

Vortrag und Exponat bei CAMPUS CITY 2022

Vom 10. - 23. Oktober 2022 präsentierte sich die Universität Bremen in der Stadt. Vorträge, Führungen, Ausstellungen, Workshops und vieles mehr konnten besucht werden. Auch wir waren dabei und brachten unseren Forschungsbereich der Allgemeinheit näher mithilfe von Exponaten im Überseemuseum und einem Vortrag in Halle 7.

Mitgliedschaften
Projekte: hyBit, MMM, LogDynamics, π³

hyBit: Wasserstoff gilt als Energieträger von morgen. Doch der Weg in eine effiziente Wasserstoffwirtschaft ist komplex und bedarf exzellenter wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Das von der Universität koordinierte Wasserstoff-Großforschungsprojekt hyBit bekommt dafür jetzt knapp 30 Millionen Euro Förderung. Unsere Gruppe ist auch Mitglied des Projekts!

MMM: Minds, Media, Machines ist ein interdisziplinäres Netzwerk von Forscher:innen der Universität Bremen sowie angebundenen inner- und außeruniversitären Instituten. Sie arbeiten zusammen, um unser Verständnis von Intelligenz und Kognition in autonomen Agenten, Agententeams im Kontext von mediatisierten Welten zu verbessern. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe ist auch ein Teil davon.

LogDynamics: Das Bremen Research Cluster for Dynamics in Logistics (LogDynamics) steht seit 1995 für interdisziplinäre Forschung in logistischen Themenbereichen und für ein entsprechend fokussiertes strukturiertes internationales Promotionsprogramm der Universität Bremen. LogDynamics trägt in Forschung, Transfer und Promotionsausbildung in einer internationalen Umgebung zur Profilbildung der exzellenten und modernen Universität Bremen bei. LogDynamics verleiht durch die damit verbundenen Emergenzen und Synergien dem Wirtschaftsstandort Bremen neue Impulse und Triebkräfte.

π³: Im Graduiertenkolleg "π³: Parameteridentifikation - Analyse, Algorithmen, Implementierungen" konzentrieren sich die Doktoranden an der Schnittstelle zwischen angewandter Mathematik und Informatik auf Fragen der Parameteridentifikation, die im Wesentlichen als hochdimensionale Minimierungsprobleme für geeignete Funktionale formuliert werden.

Kommittee: STACS 2023 PC, WINE 2022 PC

Daniel Schmand wurde in das Programm-Komitee der STACS 2023 - Symposium on Theoretical Aspects of Computer Science eingeladen und hat die Einladung angenommen.

Daniel Schmand wurde in das Programm-Komitee der WINE 2022 - The 18th Conference on Web and Internet Economics eingeladen und hat die Einladung angenommen.